Bubble Tea And Cigarettes

There's Nothing But Pleasure (New Vinyl)

Regular price $42.95

- From the producers of Cigarettes After Sex
- Includes Digital Downloads

In a world of immediacy, speed, and the here and now, we seem to have lost the trail of those music groups that caress you, that cradle you, that feel like they accompany our sadness and turn it into something beautiful. What groups like GALAXIE 500, RED HOUSE PAINTERS, LOW, COCTEAU TWINS, MAZZY STAR, or more recently CIGARETTES AFTER SEX, WARAHENEGE and Joni do. That’s why we listen to each new song from BUBBLE TEA AND CIGARETTES like a gift, an opportunity, a narcotic journey to the deepest part of our feelings. That’s how we have experienced each of their five singles that have been released over the past year or so, and now it’s time to really celebrate, because the time has come for Andi and Kat’s first album, “There’s Nothing But Pleasure”.

This is a very special release, both on vinyl, CD formats and digital, which includes those five singles and three marvelous previously unreleased tracks. The album delves deeper into the preciousness that can be found in silence, of the magic of slow tempos, that seem to beat at the same pace as our heart. Where Andi and Kat’s voices, the reverb, the delays, the crystalline guitars all create a false sense of fragility, that everything could break at any given moment, of containment, and of course, of emotion. The violins on “Cigarette Butt” (exciting); the martial rhythm of “He Asked Me To Quit Smoking” which reminds us of some of the saddest moments of Dusty Springfield; the desertic evocation of “Santa Mónica” that Chris Isaak would have loved to have written. The melodic perfection, that guitar arrangement and the impossible title, “Go Downstairs To The Blue Moon, Buy Some Fried Chicken”, the fifties spirit of “Leap”, the dreamy nostalgia of “Liz” and the surreal feeling of “5AM Empanada With You”. With nocturnal themes, and where cigarette smoke seems to take on a sonic quality, full of hedonism, the songs also benefit from the great mixing work of Anthony "Rocky" Gallo (Norah Jones, Cat Power, THE XX, CIGARETTES AFTER SEX, THE KILLERS, THE CLIENTELE…) and the mastering of Greg Calbi (Stevie Wonder, John Lennon, David Bowie, TAME IMPALA, ARCADE FIRE, St. Vincent, PERFUME GENIUS, BLONDIE, Aretha Franklin).



A1 There's Nothing But Pleasure
A2 Go Downstairs To The Blue Moon, Buy Some Fried Chicken
A3 Santa Monica
A4 Cigarette Butt
B1 Liz
B2 He Asked Me To Quit Smoking
B3 Leap
B4 5am Empanada With You