Philip Glass

Solo Piano (Black & White Marble Vinyl)

Regular price $48.95

- Music on Vinyl Limited Black & White Marble Vinyl
- Limited edition of 2000 numbered copies

'With Solo Piano, Philip Glass presents himself 'unplugged' - no electronic keyboards or synthesizers, and no overdubs, either - just solo piano. 'Metamorphosis' was written in 1988 and takes its name from a play based on Kafka's short story. Its second track, 'Metamorphosis Two', formed the basis of one of the main musical themes in the film 'The Hours'. It is also the song that the American rock band Pearl Jam uses as their introduction music to concerts. 'Mad Rush' was written for the occasion of the Dalai Lama's first visit in New York City. 'Wichita Vortex Sutra' is the result of a chance meeting between two long-time friends, Glass and poet Allen Ginsberg, in a bookstore in the East Village. 'We decided on the spot to do something together, reached for one of Allen's books, and chose the poem 'Wichita Vortex Sutra''. Solo Piano is available as a limited edition of 2000 individually numbered copies on black & white marbled vinyl and includes an 8-page booklet.' - Music On Vinyl


1) Metamorphosis
2) Metamorphosis One
3) Metamorphosis Two
4) Metamorphosis Three
5) Metamorphosis Four
6) Metamorphosis Five
7) Mad Rush
8) Wichita Sutra Vortex