Shinichi Omata 小俣慎一

Boku Neko Platanus (2LP)

Regular price $58.95

Expanded vinyl edition of previously tape-only lost techno-pop classic from Tokyo/1984 - coming with an additional fifty minutes plus of unreleased archival music from the original recording sessions.

Artwork by the acclaimed book designer Luke Bird and liner notes by the artist. 300 copies (180g).

A Japanese synth curio? A lost techno-pop classic? So might run the standard view of the electronic album Boku・Neko・Platanus, recorded in 1984 by Shinichi Omata. The facts point that way. The futuristic Platonische Liebe and Omata’s technodelic take on the traditional Greek folk track Egyptische Knabe are timeless electro tracks with a radically simple pop concept and robotic flavour that closely echo Japan’s most recognisable exports from the era.

Boku・Neko・Platanus was originally issued on cassette in extremely limited numbers (25 only – released by the Tokyo-based Indian grocery store, Ganso Nakaya Mugendo, located in the Koenji district of the city) so much so, that it’s incredible it ever came to light at all. What we can hear across the expanded edition is not only a highly skilful instrumentalist at the peak of his powers, but also a daring experimentalist, who employed emerging computer and synth technology in innovative ways, and revitalised old school music by adapting it into contemporary settings.

“This was the kind of music I had always wanted to try”, he recalls in our sleevenote interview. Omata’s angle was that he was writing modern music, informed by contemporary developments elsewhere but without the stiffness of the formal academic scene. It’s all pop as far as he’s concerned.



A1 Platonische Liebe
A2 Boyish Colour
A3 Chikasyugisya No Yume
A4 Metamorphose
B1 Egyptische Knabe
B2 Eien No Chaos
B3 Modern Ballet Ii
B4 Natsu No Koibitotachi E
C1 Yoru No Gesui-Kan
C2 Idola Fori (Take #1)
C3 Edgar Froese
C4 Egyptische Knabe (Take #2)
C5 Munich
D1 Weather Report
D2 Insects
D3 Hajishirazu No Tenshi (Completed Version)
D4 Lullaby For A Gloomy Morning
D5 Idola Fori (Sitar Version)