Pacific Breeze Volume 3 (2LP) (Seafoam Green Vinyl)

Regular price $68.95

Pacific Breeze Volume 3: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1975-1987

  • - The latest chapter in the acclaimed Pacific Breeze series!
  • - Artwork by renowned illustrator Hiroshi Nagai
  • - Compiled by Yosuke Kitazawa and Mark “Frosty” McNeill (dublab)
  • - 2xLP housed in a deluxe wide spine jacket with full color inner sleeves and custom die-cut OBI
  • - Extensive artist bios by Yosuke Kitazawa

  • Pacific Breeze 3: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1975-1987 marks the latest chapter in the famed series and features holy grails plus under-the-radar rarities. The collection bursts at the seams to reveal some of the greatest Japanese tracks ever laid to tape, pushing towards the edge of City Pop to reveal glimmers of the next waves of styles to spring forth from the country’s creative minds. The appearance of Pizzicato Five hint at the emergence of Shibuya-kei while the influence of hip hop and electro as an emerging global trend are also evident here through the prevalence of heavier programmed drum beats on tracks such as “Heartbeat” by Miho Fujiwara.

    This volume of Pacific Breeze, like its predecessors, is a female-forward offering with many tracks being voiced by women who would become household names in Japan as actresses and pop idols. Their songs here subvert the norm and brim with an innovative spirit that shatters gender roles in favor of sonic transcendence. Techno-pop classics from Susan, Miharu Koshi and Chiemi Manabe sit alongside sublime funk from Atsuko Nina and Naomi Akimoto while Teresa Noda slides into the mix with a sultry reggae jam. The genre span is stretched wider with hypnotic jazz fusion by Parachute and Hiroyuki Namba, a synthesizer fantasy from Osamu Shoji, and magnetic pop by Makoto Matsushita and Chu Kosaka.

    Although not front and center, the visionary members of Yellow Magic Orchestra are still very present on Pacific Breeze 3, with Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto, and Yukihiro Takahashi taking up producer and musician roles on many of these tracks. Pacific Breeze 3 serves up a captivating musical journey that adds an essential chapter to the iconic compilation series.


    1. Naomi Akimoto - Bewitched (Are You Leaving Soon)
    2. Atsuko Nina - Tonkachi
    3. Miho Fujiwara - Heartbeat
    4. Miharu Koshi - Scandal Night
    5. Chu Kosaka - Shirakechimauze
    6. Teresa Noda - Tropical Love
    7. Makoto Matsushita - Business Man Pt. 1
    8. Susan - Ah! Soka
    9. Yukako Hayase - Suiyoubi Madeni Shinitaino
    10. Parachute - Kowloon Daily
    11. Hiroyuki Namba - Tropical Exposition (Who Done It? Version)
    12. Pizzicato Five - Boy Meets Girl
    13. Mari Iijima - Love Sick
    14. 1986 Omega Tribe - Cosmic Love
    15. Osamu Shoji - Pub Casablanca
    16. Chiemi Manabe - Untotooku