William Odell

Hughes Cruisin' (New Vinyl)

Regular price $42.95
  • Rare Detroit Funk Soul album
  • First ever vinyl reissue since 1981
  • Featuring Tribe founder Wendell Harrison

William Odell Hughes’ debut album has all the best characteristics of an 80s album: it’s filled with funky playful beats and has excellent soulful honey-dipped vocals. On Cruisin’ the listener is treated to both mellow soul sounds and electrifying disco boogie (that’ll make even the shyest of club goers want to get up and dance) and Wendell Harrison’s instantly recognizable flute-playing and synth pads give the record a warm, relaxed groove. Prepare yourself for funky vibes, cool soothing feet-tapping rhythms, fantastic interplays on vocal tempos…all backed by a beautiful array of soulful synthesized and cosmic music.

References to universal awareness are plentiful throughout and the spirituality of The Tribe remains a constant undertone; a gentle reminder of WenHa’s roots. With a sound like this, it’s no wonder that this album has long been considered a grail for crate diggers around the world. All of the above makes this incredible record both timeless and as relevant today as it was back when it was initially released.


1 Cruisin'
2 Waiting
3 Where Am I
4 Super-Funk-A-Ga-La-Listic-Freak
5 I've Got Love On My Mind